Hand Drawn Designs

8 Mar

Here are some drawings I have been working on for screen print designs. I have thinking alot about animals lately, mainly horses and insects. Alot of these drawings are inspired by song lyrics or passages from books. I recently read Sexing the Cherry by Jeanette Winterson, and I was really taken by the passage describing Fortunata (one of the twelve dancing princesses). For some reason it made me think alot about insects again, which initiated this series of drawings. I have included some of the text to help with the imagery. The rest are just scans from my sketch book.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Hand Drawn Designs”

  1. Dorothy Kraft March 8, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    I love your work. Such beautiful lines. The patterned horse is my favourite.

  2. Karen March 9, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    YOU are amazing xox

  3. Wayne March 9, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    I have the most talented sister-in-law in the world!
    I am so stupid. I remember talking at Christmas to you about songs involving animals. These just jogged my memory. Please let me know if I can help with any ‘animal’ lyrics. New Fleet Foxes album in May!

    • tarabromham March 10, 2011 at 9:55 am #

      Thanks guys for all your lovely comments. Wayne: I am SO excited about the new Fleet Foxes album. I heard one of the tracks on the radio and it sounded great.

  4. P. Knee March 10, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    The green night sky is my fave. Closely followed by the bird and then the top horse. Awesome stuff! :)

  5. Bohie March 29, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    Tara these look AWESOME!!!! I LOVE the butterflies but my all time favorite is the Black horse with the pretty details. I would like to buy a screen print of it from you just plain black on paper will do fine. and it must be signed. and hand delivery is essential :) haha

    See you in the kitchen!
    xo

    • tarabromham March 31, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      Thanks Bohie! I am sure I can definately organise a print for you of the patterned horse. xox

  6. pooks January 15, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

    Gorgeous work, I hope you don’t mind but I “pinned” your dragonfly drawing on my pinterest account.

    Do you sell your prints/fabrics at all?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

