Sample Printing

9 May

Finally it is that time of year where I have transfered some of my drawings to screen and started sampling what kind of fabrics I would like to print on. I have mostly been printing on silks and velvet: unfortunately these two fabrics are notoriously hard to photograph, I  not sure that the images I have included really do them much justi I have included the original sepia ink drawing for my large geometric repeat pattern, just to show the process of the original artwork and then how I translate that into repeat.

Here is the original drawing.

This is my repeat design form the drawing. This print is on silk dupion.

Some of my samples folded on my desk…

Detail of the same print on olive green dupion.

Blue on blue.

Velvet sample. This picture really doesn’t do it any justice.

Velvet detail.

Another detail of the velvet.

My messy desk in the studio…

4 Responses to “Sample Printing”

  1. P. Knee May 9, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I really like the olive green dupion. I think the contrast shows the pattern best. :)

  2. Dorothy Kraft May 16, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Wow Tara. Your designs and printing are lovely. Well done

  3. Dorothy Kraft May 24, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    Hi Tara – nearly the end of semester and the end of your degree! You go girl, good luck. You have worked hard and done some amazing work. Well done.

    • tarabromham May 25, 2011 at 10:55 am #

      Thanks Dorothy… You are so sweet. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

